Varsity Scouting


Varsity Scouting is an exciting program for older boys that offers the same ideals and principles as Boy Scouting. However, its flexibility allows community organizations to design a program that fits its own needs.  The program is designed for young men ages 14 to 18,

  • Varsity Scouting as a community resource
  • Varsity Scouting as a High Adventure Program
  • Varsity Scouting as a Sports Program


Varsity Letter Varsity Scout Letter

The Varsity Scout letter is available to Varsity Scouts and adult team leaders. Requirements include attendance at meetings and activities, active participation in high-adventure or sports programs, and living the Scout Oath and Scout Law. It can be worn on the Varsity Scout jacket or the merit badge sash.

Denali Award

Denali Award Varsity Scout Denali Award

The Denali Award is a Varsity Scouting pinnacle. It is available only to team members who have earned a Varsity letter, and features requirements such as advancement in rank, a position of leadership, and service as a team captain or program manager leading and supporting activities.


Information on this page was found at
Advancement Chair, Chief Solano District – Cathy Walton-Woodson


Mt Diablo Silverado Council
BSA National Office
World Organization of the Scout Movement